Workload

Career Path:  If I wanted to follow in the career path of one of the aircraft mechanics I work with, I would have to attend an FAA-approved Aviation Maintenance Technician School. From there, I would have on-the-job training for about 30 hours before going in to take the tests for the certification. I would take several FAA written examinations before the oral examination and the practical test with an examiner.

Workload: The typical daily workload usually weighs out equally among the mechanics from task to task. The mechanics all maintain a high level of experience. Now when the task includes a more serious repair or modification, the head of maintenance (my mentor Paul) usually works closely on that task, which makes absolute sense if this repair could alter the flight dynamics of the aircraft.

Tasks: At my workplace, I enjoy the compliments I get from the work I do at the end of the day. When I arrive, there are only about 3 mechanics working on one or two aircraft. I add one more hand to the mix and work actually gets done quicker than without. Some of the work I enjoy are tasks I can accomplish without supervision and I am trusted to perform the task without error. Some of them include oil changes, replacing landing/taxi lights, change tires, and helping get tools when the guys need them. Some of the less glorious work includes repetitive tasks such as opening and closing inspection panels. I understand the importance behind that job, but there isn’t much excitement gained unless you happen upon a defect or fault.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment